(03) 9999 7780

Call For Queries?

Training Centre

View on Map

Keystroke Learning - Main Menu

(03) 9999 7780

Call For Queries?

Keystroke Learning - Main Menu

Using Zoom Controls During Training

When you join a Live Online Training session using Zoom, we encourage you to fully interact with the facilitator and others by asking questions and sharing your ideas. This means it’s important to understand the available controls in Zoom so that you can actively participate and get the most out of your session.

When you join a Zoom meeting hosted by Keystroke Learning, you are considered an attendee and the user who is running the training session is considered the host.

Zoom Controls via Downloaded Program

The attendee controls appear at the bottom of your screen if you’re not currently screen sharing. Attendees have access to these features: Mute / Unmute: Mute and unmute your microphone. Audio Controls (click the ^ arrow next to Mute Unmute): Allows you to change the microphone and speaker that Zoom is currently using on your computer, leave computer audio, and access the full audio settings. Start Video Stop Video: Turns your camera on or off. Video Controls (click the ^ arrow next to Start Video Stop Video): Change cameras if you have multiple cameras, select a virtual background (if enabled), or access your full video settings. Participants: See who’s currently in the meeting. The Participants list also gives you access to these options:
  • Rename: Hover over your name and click Rename to change your screen name displayed to other participants.
  • Non-verbal feedback icons (if enabled by the host): Places an icon beside your name to quickly notify the host. For example, Raise Hand places the raise hand icon beside your name and simulates a hand raise.
Share Screen: Start a screen share (if the host allows). You will be able to select the desktop or application you want to share. Learn more. Chat: Access the chat window to chat with the participants. Learn more. Record: Start or stop a local recording. Attendees do not have access to start a cloud recording. Learn more.

Note: The host will need to allow local recordings in their account settings, then give you permission to record. If you don’t have permission to record, use the in-meeting chat or audio to ask the host for permission.

Leave Meeting: Leave the meeting while it continues for the other participants. Only the host can end the meeting.

Zoom Controls via Web Browsers

The attendee controls appear at the bottom of your screen.

Attendees have access to these features:

Mute / Unmute: Mute and unmute your microphone.

Start Video Stop Video: Turns your camera on or off.

Participants: See who’s currently in the meeting. The participants’ list also gives you access to these options:

  • Rename: Hover over your name to change it as it’s displayed to other participants.
  • Non-verbal feedback icons (if enabled by the host): Places an icon beside your name to quickly notify the host. For example, Raise Hand places the raise hand icon beside your name and simulates a hand raise.

Chat: Access the chat window to chat with the participants. Learn more.

Leave Meeting: Leave the meeting while it continues for the other participants. Only the host can end the meeting.

Sharing your screen

  1. Click the Share Screen button located in your meeting controls.
  2. Select the screen you want to share. You can also choose an individual application that is already open on your computer, the desktop, a whiteboard, or an iPhone/iPad.
  3. (Optional) Enable these features:
    • Check Share Computer Sound: If you check this option, any sound played by your computer will be shared in the meeting.
    • Check Optimize for full screen video clip: Check this if you will be sharing a video clip in full screen mode. Do not check this otherwise, as it may cause the shared screen to be blurry.
  4. Click Share.
    • Zoom will automatically switch to full screen to optimize the shared screen view. To exit full-screen, click Exit Full Screen in the top-right corner or press the Esc key.
    • To disable automatic full screen when viewing a shared screen, disable this option in your desktop client settingsEnter full screen automatically when a participant shares screen.

Share screen menu

When you start sharing your screen, the meeting controls will move into a menu that you can drag around your screen.

  • Mute/Unmute: Mute or unmute your microphone.
  • Start/Stop Video: Start or stop your in-meeting video.
  • Participants/Manage Participants: View or manage the participants (if the host).
  • New Share: Start a new screen share. You will be prompted to select which screen you want to share again.
  • Pause Share: Pause your current shared screen.
  • Annotate / Whiteboard: Display annotation tools for drawing, adding text, etc.
  • More: Hover over more for additional options.
    • Chat: Open the chat window.
    • InviteInvite others to join the meeting.
    • Record: Start recording locally or to the cloud.
    • Allow/Disable participants annotation: Allow or prevent the participants from annotating on your shared screen.
    • Show/Hide Names of Annotators: Show or hide the participants’ name when they are annotating on a screen share. If set to show, the participant’s name will briefly display beside their annotation.
    • Live on Workplace by Facebook: Share your meeting or webinar on Workplace by Facebook. Learn more about live-streaming a webinar. Learn more about live-streaming a meeting.
    • Optimize Share for Full-screen Video Clip: Start optimizing for a video clip in full screen mode.
      Note: Do not enable this setting if you are not sharing a full screen video clip, as it will blur your screen share.
    • End Meeting:  Leave the meeting or end the meeting for all participants.

Requesting Remote Control (Download Only)

The remote control feature allows you to take control of another participant’s screen. You can either request remote control of another participant’s screen or the other participant can give control to you.

Requesting Remote Control

You can request remote control from the host or participant who is sharing their screen.

  1. While viewing another participant’s screen share, click the View Options dropdown menu located at the top of your in-meeting window.
  2. Select Request Remote Control, then click Request to confirm.
    The host or participant will get a notification asking if they want to allow you to control their screen.
  3. Click inside the screen share to start controlling the participant’s screen.
  4. To stop remote control, click the View Options dropdown and select Give Up Remote Control.

Giving Remote Control

While screen sharing, you can give remote control to another participant who is in the meeting. If the participant is on iOS or Android, they can remote control your screen using their mobile device.

  1. While screen sharing, click Remote Control and select the participant you want to give control to.

    The participant can click anywhere on their screen to start control.
  2. To regain control, click anywhere on your screen. The other user can still restart remote control by clicking on their screen.
    Tip: You can also click Stop Share to regain control and not allow the other participant to start remote control again.

Melbourne Training Venue

Level 2 / 52 Albert Rd
South Melbourne, VIC, 3205

Venue Access Hours

Monday – Friday 8:30am – 5:00pm

Are you Running Late???

Keystroke Learning - Building Computer Skills to Enable Success

Log in